jump to navigation

A thank you to Dr. George Jelinek on my Swankiversary . . . October 17, 2010

Posted by manonamsion in Uncategorized.
trackback

Those of you who are regular readers of this blog may have been asking  yourselves whether the Man on MSion is still on a mission . . ..  My apologies for my absence for the last couple of months.  One of the things about having a chronic condition is that it is always there and sometimes you just want a break from thinking about it.  I took that break and now I’m back!

I’ve now been on the Swank/Jelinek program for over 1 year.  Now that I’m used to healthy eating and exercise, and feeling good because of it, I don’t really think about why I’m doing it anymore – it has become second nature.  And that allows me to not think about having MS when I don’t want to.  That’s a good feeling (but I’ll try not to let it lead me to abandon my blog again!)

It’s also a good feeling to have gone for over a year without any exacerbations or new symptoms.  I just had my annual MRI and saw my neurologist, and it was good to hear that not only do I have no new lesions, but some the existing ones have “slightly decreased conspicuity.”  That’s doctor-speak for them being less significant!!!

I’m looking forward to many good annual check-ups in the future and I’m happy to feel like I’ve taken control.  I’m honestly not sure that I would have ever even tried the Swank Diet if I hadn’t found the secondary support for the program on Dr. George Jelinek’s website.  So I want to take this opportunity on my “Swankiversary” to thank Dr. Jelinek for inspiring me to change my diet and lifestyle, and for all he has done for all of us looking for a way to take control and overcome multiple sclerosis.

If you are reading this and haven’t read Dr. Jelinek’s website, please do yourself a favor and do so now.  Also, for my fellow Americans, Dr. Jelinek’s fantastic, indispensable book is finally available on the Barnes & Noble website and on the Amazon.com website.  It is a couple of bucks cheaper from Amazon, but Barnes & Noble is shipping immediately, while Amazon takes 1-3 months.  Spend the money and get the book RIGHT NOW!  (It is still way cheaper than having it shipped from Australia, as I did!)

Comments»

1. Amanda - November 13, 2010

Congratulations on reaching this milestone, I am pleased you are doing so well.
I have had MS symptoms for more than 10 years but only diagnosed this year. I have been following George Jelineks plan now for 3 months and can honestly say I feel better than I have done in 10 plus years. The changes aren’t that difficult compared to the changes you would have to make if your levels of disability increased! It’s what they call a ‘no brainer’ as far as I am concerned!
Hope you continue to feel healthier and happier, Amanda.

2. Alan - November 15, 2010

Congratulations. I’m diagnosed 10 months and on the diet 7 of those 10. I consider myself lucky to have found the diet so quickly.

I understand exactly what you say. Here’s to all of us!

3. Catriona Tate - January 18, 2011

Congratulations! I too found that with Prof Jelinek’s plan I started to have occasional (at first, and now fairly regular) days when I didn’t think about the fact that I had MS – such wonderful freedom! I’m just over 2 years in – and still getting better, with improvement to the residual everyday symptoms that I had resigned myself to accepting as permanent.

Good luck with it, and I hope you also find that you continue to get better as time goes on


Leave a Reply

