jump to navigation

Eating well while eating to be well . . . June 13, 2010

Posted by manonamsion in multiple sclerosis, swank diet.
Tags: , ,
trackback

How many times have I heard something like this: “Oh, I could never give up cheese [or beef or ice cream or etc. etc. etc.]?”  Pretty much every time I introduce someone to the Swank Diet!    Well, I wasn’t sure that I could do it when I first started, but I was sure that I can’t give up walking!  And if an ultra-low saturated fat diet is the way you need to eat to stop the progression of multiple sclerosis, giving up some of the foods I loved was what I needed to do. 

Now that I’ve totally changed my diet over the last 10 months, I will never go back.  I actually really enjoy the way I eat now.  Fruits, vegetables and whole grains are the foundation of my diet.  I still can’t belive that I haven’t eaten a bit of cheese in almost a year now!

I recently got a great e-mail from SJ, a reader of this blog.  Here’s what she had to say:

“I’ve had MS for four years, was incredibly ill for the first two years then my mother encouraged me to read Dr Jelinek’s book. Wow, is all I say. I had a last supper consisting of a farmyard of animals and haven’t looked back.  Two years later, I’m in better health than ever. But you’ll know this story, it’s yours! And well done both on sticking to the diet and on publicizing it.

“So your blog inspired mine – and I’m about to release a blog of recipes based on the diet.  I’ve always been a good cook (well, people eat my food and come back again, so….) and I’ve been looking at a lot of vegan sites and I think we could use one that basically tells everyone, in one central base, how to eat brilliantly on this diet. 

“Like you, I’d feel so honoured if just one new person comes onto this diet and changes their life in the way we have.  But the greatest challenge is getting people to change the way they think about this diet and give up things like cheese and meat (I had such a problem for a while, but two weeks into the diet I was super super healthy already).  Fish meals are awesome (especially seafood), and I’ve been experimenting for the past year with baking cakes, as well as clever ways to achieve things with fish etc.”

Well, SJ has delivered!  Her new blog, My MS Free Life, is terrific.  Her subtitle says it all: “Gives up favourite food. Gets back life! Sets about recreating favourite food. Has cake and eats it!”  Take a look at her blog, and you can have your cake and eat it, too.  I made her fat-free potato chips (or as my English friends say, crisps) this afternoon . . . and my teenagers loved them so much, they spent the evening making more!  Now if only SJ can invent fat and dairy free cheese that isn’t disgusting . . .   Oh well, we can’t have it all.  SJ and I choose our health!

Comments»

1. Catriona - June 14, 2010

Awesome! I’ve found exactly the same effects as you guys from the diet – grew to love the low-sat-fat food surprisingly quickly, health massively improved – always looking out for cool recipe ideas 🙂

2. denise - July 18, 2010

catriona, how long have you been on the diet and had ms?


Leave a Reply

