jump to navigation

Reaching out to men with MS April 20, 2010

Posted by manonamsion in multiple sclerosis, swank diet, Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

Yesterday’s entry identified my MSion – to make sure you learn about
the Swank diet and start down the road to maintaining your health.
Today, I want to address the other reason I started this blog, and
that is because I am a man (and maybe you are too).

If you are a man with multiple sclerosis, you know the statistics –
twice as many women have MS as men.  When I was first diagnosed, in
fact, I Googled “men with multiple sclerosis,” and all I got were a
lot of sites quoting that statistic.  When I Googled “executives with
multiple sclerosis,” I got pretty much nothing.  And when I Googled
“lawyers with multiple sclerosis,” I got a bunch of lawyers who wanted
to help me file a disability claim.  As you know from yesterday’s
entry, I have no intention of ever going on disability!!  (But I’m
grateful for the good disability insurance coverage I have; perhaps a
topic for a future blog entry.)

While I was fortunate to be able to find a support group for men
through my local MS Society chapter (which moderates my otherwise
negative feelings toward the MS Society . . . but that’s yet another
blog for another day . . .), I realize that there are men facing the
diagnosis, living with MS, and feeling unconnected and perhaps
overwhelmed by the degree to which resources are geared toward women.

That’s why, while everyone is welcome to read Man on a MSion (and I
hope you do), men are particularly welcome and urged to raise issues,
make comments and suggest subjects to address in the future.  Got a
great subject you want to get out there among men with MS?  Drop me a
note at manonamsion@gmail.com and let me know.  You may get to be my
first guest blogger!  Anonymity is guaranteed to those who want it.
Add to Technorati Favorites

Comments»

1. Cath - May 17, 2010

Hi- I am not a man and I don’t have MS! I’m a physiotherapist and have spent the last three years researching opinions, beliefs and perceptions about fatigue ( of people with MS and health care providers) and how it influences exercise participation. 95% of my participants were women and this has niggled away at me for some time. I am planning another study which will hopefully recruit men willing to discuss their experiences. Any words of wisdom from a male perspective would be much appreciated for example, would guys be more likely to volunteer if the interviewer was male?


Leave a Reply

